All good things…

How to do this?

I guess first off I have to say the last 2 and a half years with you Gentle reader has been perhaps some of the most fulfilling of my life. As with everything there has been ups and downs, but anyone who expects life to be a constant is deluding themselves.

But as with all good things, this is the end of my Blog. I always believe that if you are going to do something then you must do it properly and now I have found that I cannot devote the attention to this tome that I would like due to my new job at Jaguar Landrover and the new coaching role I have at Birmingham & Solihull Rugby Club. So this is my last entry.

With all due respect to my friends in the States I’m not an American so I won’t get all gushy and lovey dovey on you. You all know what each and every one of you means to me and I shall forever be grateful for your support.

I shall still be Facebooking and Twittering so if you want to stay in touch you can, for those of you who already do, I shall certainly be still around. And if you have them, I’ll still be reading your Blogs.

Those chaps who have my mobile and email, let me know about any pedals and if family and time allow, I’ll be there.

So as I bring down the curtain on the MassiveMTBer a final thank you and a promise I won’t get back to where I was in June 2009. I’ll still have the mental illness related to food, but I’ll also be properly equipped to deal with it through cycling and reading your weight loss cycling blogs.

When the address has expired, the blog will still be available for retrospective inspiration on https://massivemtber.wordpress.com/

So long and thanks for all the fish… (Google it).

Don’t ever stop…

3 responses to “All good things…

  1. This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Edit

    15 Responses to All good things…

    Toby Field | April 14, 2012 at 7:07 am | Reply | Edit

    I’m a little surprised Clive but not totally. I did wonder how you would continue blogging as you’re now a motorcyclist.

    I’m forever in your debt for showing me that it is possible and for giving me the idea of starting a blog of my own. The online support I received really has helped.

    I’d still like to meet you and ride with you one day. Lets make it happen.

    Good luck in the future. I hope things only get better.

    Clive | April 14, 2012 at 7:44 am | Reply | Edit

    Thanks Toby, the support and inspiration went both ways feller, let’s call that quits eh?

    We’ll definately get that pedal in and I’ll certainly stay in touch mate!

    welshcyclist | April 14, 2012 at 7:51 am | Reply | Edit

    Hi there Clive, I’m sad that this is your last post, but I’d like to thank you for sharing your cycling with me and all your other followers, your blog was the first I’d check out when I turned on my PC, and I really enjoyed your words. I’ve said it before you have a talent, keep using that talent, don’t let it fade away. Good luck for the future, Don’t ever stop. Cheers

    Clive | April 14, 2012 at 8:36 am | Reply | Edit

    Diolch yn fawr Welshie…

    Tim | April 14, 2012 at 8:10 am | Reply | Edit

    Going to be sorry to see you go Clive, I think you may have under estimated how much you inspired a lot of us to get up and do something about our weight problems.

    While everybody can write, you are one of those fortunate people who’s writing makes people want to read it and keep coming back for more.

    Good luck with your new job and your rugby coaching and don’t ever stop

    Clive | April 14, 2012 at 8:37 am | Reply | Edit

    Thanks Tim, I’ll still be reading yours everyday!

    Bazza | April 14, 2012 at 10:00 am | Reply | Edit

    As the bowl of petunias said, “Oh no! Not again!”.

    Good luck with all you do.

    Mickey | April 14, 2012 at 10:02 am | Reply | Edit

    You are a great bloke Clive, thanks for sharing your time with the rest of us. I wish you thievery best of luck for the future.

    Clive | April 14, 2012 at 10:07 am | Reply | Edit

    Thanks Mickey, and to you mate.

    Mickey | April 14, 2012 at 10:02 am | Reply | Edit

    that should have been – I wish you the very best of luck for the future

    Clive Chapman | April 14, 2012 at 10:04 am | Reply | Edit

    Thanks Bazza, life, you can talk to me about life (sic).

    Matt | April 14, 2012 at 10:09 am | Reply | Edit

    Will miss your ramblings on the blog mate, been good reading but I totally understand.
    We will always have Facebook!!

    Dont ever stop eh?!

    Oh.. Pasty Ride?

    Clive | April 14, 2012 at 10:11 am | Reply | Edit

    Matt, always mate, if dates allow, deffo!

    Loving the Bike | April 14, 2012 at 12:48 pm | Reply | Edit

    It’s been a great run, Clive. Sorry to see you shutting this site down, but I’ll definitely still be connecting with you on Twitter and Facebook. All the best.

    Darryl

    Clive | April 14, 2012 at 1:35 pm | Reply | Edit

    Thanks Darryl, you’re a good man!

  2. Rafe | April 14, 2012 at 9:18 pm | Reply | Edit

    So long to the online side of things. Might be in Brummyland in a couple of weeks, for the weekend. Am working but will let you know if I have firm plans and maybe we can meet.

    In Manchester, home of the Joby, this weekend working.

    Clive | April 15, 2012 at 6:58 am | Reply | Edit

    Rafe, drop me a mail or text. Have you my new mobi? Ends 747. I have some lovely new trails, not that technical, but can go on forever! It’d be great to see you again!

    John | April 14, 2012 at 9:19 pm | Reply | Edit

    Even at a great distance — I’m in Toronto — you’ve been an inspiring presence and a thoroughly enjoyable companion. Thanks for your sharp wit, your good humour, your insights, and your simple honesty. You have been bright company on the bike and the roads, even if only in the virtual world. All the best!

    Clive | April 15, 2012 at 7:00 am | Reply | Edit

    That’s a really nice thing to say John, I do appreciate it.

    Steve | April 15, 2012 at 2:09 am | Reply | Edit

    Thanks for the great prose and the inspiration, Clive. I suspect you will never fully appreciate the influence you’ve had on others. I, for one, have a far greater command of British slang and for that I am in your debt. Best of luck to you and I shall be ever watchful of the tow paths should I find myself in your neck of the woods!

    Don’t Panic.

    Clive | April 15, 2012 at 7:04 am | Reply | Edit

    Steve, if you’re ever in my neck of the woods you will always have an open invite at Chapman Towers and a gentle introduction to Mountain Biking. Well not that gentle you are an ex squaddie after all!

    I will still be reading your blog (One of my favourites) and keeping in touch via your comments section. I consider you a friend and comrade, we must have that pedal mate!

    Leave a Reply

  3. Eric | April 15, 2012 at 7:01 pm | Reply | Edit

    Truly inspirational blog you have kept going. Sorry to hear that you are shutting it down. But on a better note I am excited to here things are looking up for you. I know I didn’t comment to often but I read many of your post. Good luck in your new adventures and this chapter of your life. =)

    Clive | April 15, 2012 at 7:24 pm | Reply | Edit

    Thanks Eric.

    Mike Binnix | April 15, 2012 at 9:22 pm | Reply | Edit

    I’ll miss the blog Clive but still plan to look you up when I got Jolly Old…

    Till then I’ll see you in the twitterverse…..

    Mike

    Clive | April 16, 2012 at 5:44 am | Reply | Edit

    Thanks Mike, you’ll have an open door at my place in Dear Old Blighty. Just don’t tell my Army mates I have a Matelot as a pal!

    Fizzhogg | April 16, 2012 at 7:08 pm | Reply | Edit

    This makes me very sad, but I understand.

    Cheers to you and I wish you and your family all the best in everything.

    Stay in touch on Twitter and drop by the Unfat Project now and then.

    Don’t ever stop… don’t ever stop.

    Clive | April 17, 2012 at 5:53 am | Reply | Edit

    Fizz, I certainly will stay in touch and read your Blog. Thanks for the good wishes mate!

    Phill | April 20, 2012 at 12:49 pm | Reply | Edit

    Nooooo!!!

    It’s been a complete pleasure failing to keep up with your blog quickly enough, but always reading through eventually. You’re a pleasure to keep in touch with and of course work is a terribly important thing so I have to respect your decision and hope that you change it sooner or later

    As far as I’m aware, I’ve never sent you any fish. I know, I know, I’ve read the books, as has (I’m sure) and self respecting British geek over the age of 35. Plus most international geeks, too.

    Never, ever stop, Clive. Two wheels good. Two wheels with no engine better, but you’ve got to be on time I guess.

    Clive | April 20, 2012 at 2:36 pm | Reply | Edit

    Phill, we will meet up for a pedal some day, probably with the Joby I guess! Always a pleasure reading your blog and your too infrequent comments here! You’re a good guy, as Matty says we’ll always have Facebook (or Twitter).

    Gaz | April 24, 2012 at 10:50 am | Reply | Edit

    Well, Well , Well

    Clive C is leaving us eh ? we have done what we needed and now he’s flown the nest?

    Nah only joking

    It’s not always easy to have the time, even with the best will in the world. to keep up with writing, Clive, one thing though, keep this blog active, give us an update once or twice a year and IF you fall off the wagon TELL US we have all been there and will be there to help you out, should you need it (though I suspect you wont)

    Most of us got into our situations because we buried our heads when things got messed up, just promise us all that you will ask for help if needed !

    and with that GOOD luck with everything in the future, keep reading my ramblings and stay in touch , its been a pleasure and an honour to call you a friend , that doesnt need to change.

    Gaz

    Clive | April 25, 2012 at 6:00 pm | Reply | Edit

    Gaz, you’re a top bloke, I hear ya pal!

Leave a Reply

