Friday 4

Yesterday me and the kids drove the half an hour up the road to RAF Cosford which is a rarity these days, a still open operational RAF Station and home of the RAF Museum Cosford.

I’ve been loads of times being the huge Aircraft and History Geek that I am, but it was a first for Dan, but not Fay as she’s flown from there as a member of the ATC. (Air Cadets).

The beauty of the Museum is that it’s free and as I’m a bit financially embarrassed due to being temporarily unemployed it’s a great half term option for a day out.

We spent a good few happy hours there and had a picnic. I’d recommend the place to anyone. A few photos below.

Museum Entrance

Aerodynamic education!

Dan flying a Spitfire…

Above is a TSR2, one of the Labour Government’s of the 1960’s greatest crimes. Cancelling this world beating aircraft.

A Messerschmitt Me 163 Komet, a revolutionary rocket powered aircraft that served the Luftwaffe at the end of WW2. It had an embarrassing habit of desolving its pilots alive if it suffered too a heavy a landing and fracturing its fuel tanks which contained the highly corrosive fuel called T-STOFF.

A Pucara captured during the Falklands War of 1982. Quite apt I’m showing it here as there seems to be a bit of tension growing between us and the Argentinians over the sovereignty of the Islands again.

An Avro Lincoln, successor to the mighty Lancaster. My Dad when he was in the RAF saw these birds fly their last operational mission in Malaya in the 1950s against Communist terrorists during the Malayan Emergency.

Dan at the arse end of the Lincolns Bomb Bay!

One of my favourite all time Aircraft, The DeHavilland Mosquito , the Museum’s Mosquito is done out to represent the aircraft Wing Commander Guy Gibson VC was killed in.

Cosford has a relatively new hangar dedicated to the Cold War, which is quite nice for me as I spent most of my military career training to fight the Warsaw Pact hordes massing just over the other side of the Inner German Border. Well I say fight, staying alive for the predicted few hours after we started transmitting from our relay wagons was the aim. Then smearing on the factor 2,500 and waiting for the cans of instant sunshine to be deployed by the Sovs. the business end of a Mig 21 above.

And speaking of cans of instant sunshine, a Submarine Launched Ballistic missile and it’s “Technical package” below.

Let’s hear it for Ronald Reagan, the man who won the Cold War without frying the world!

The bomb bay of a Vulcan Bomber.

Just check this out. What an inspired way to display the EE Lightning!

Even today, this mean machine from the 50s will out sprint all modern fighter jets, pity it was so thirsty and had the endurance of me on a particularly bad day!

Imagine the dancing diamonds blasting out the back of these 2 babies!

Here’s something I forgot was here at Cosford.

James May’s 1:1 scale Spitfire from his BBC2 program Toy Stories. It looks pretty good actually!

Fay and Dan by a Red Arrow’s Folland Gnat.

And the final aircraft, a still serving C130 parked up at the maintenance unit for work.

If you’re in the area, well worth a visit. Plus all of the other Telford Museums are not far away. Ironbridge with all of it’s industrial heritage is a must.

9 responses to “Friday 4

  1. Looks like great fun!!

    Someday I’ll come visit. We can make a day of it and bike to the museum and back then hit the Dodford Inn.

  2. My father in law was in the reme in Malaya in the 50s!

  3. “Never have so few done so much for so many…”

    I enjoyed a pleasant day at the RAF Duxford museum. I would hope that it’s still open. If it is, it’s definitely worth your time should you find yourself in Cambridgeshire.

    • Duxford is a great place, been there a couple of times to satiate my plane geekyness. It’s still open as it’s part of the Imperial War Museum Organisation.

  4. I used to live down the road from Cosford although I never went there. Looks good.

    I went to Duxford a couple of years ago. It was a great day out.

    I visited Ironbridge a number of times. Love it there.

Leave a Reply

