MTB ride

A quick post with pics on a ride I did a couple of days ago.

But first a big thank you for the comments in my last blog, some more hard hitting than others. I know where you all were coming from. You know who I mean!

I went out on bimble round the local bridleways. I did around 12 very muddy miles due to the local Equine population chewing up the trails. Hooves are much more damaging to the landscape than tyres of the two wheel pedal variety!

Birmingham to Worcester main line

Birmingham to Worcester main line

First off there is the small matter of getting over the railway, there is a foot crossing that enables you to do this, but I thought a photo op was too good to miss.

A quick road bash through Hagley gets you to the country side.

View over to Wychbury Hill

View over to Wychbury Hill

A battle with the mud then ensued down the Roman Road, luckily the frost made it not too bad, and I was happy to substitute the wet and difficult going for more solid but slippery ground.

Bike and Gate shot

Bike and Gate shot

Further along the trail, this time heading towards Belbroughton on top of Barnet Hill this view over Clent Hills presented itself.

Barnet Hill looking over towards Clent Hills

Barnet Hill looking over towards Clent Hills

After a bash around Sion Farm Fishery I ended up in Holy Cross village, which by coincidence threw up this fascinating bit of history.

Tudor malt house

Tudor malt house

Then me and my MTB made our muddy way home. 12 miles and a cracking look at some new trails and a bit of stress relief!

Dirty MTB

Dirty MTB

The thing that really stands out for me is that I’m hardly using my Granny ring on these trails like I was over the Waseley’s and Lickey’s where I used to live.
I’ve been mainly in the middle ring apart from the climb from Blakedown to the top of Barnet Hill which is a Granny ring slog on sand and mud.

Back on the road bike Tuesday fighting up Wychbury Hill and scrapping with my friends in cars.

Leave a Reply

