Ring in the new…

Good riddance to a year to forget. An ill wife, the house move from hell, the death of a much loved relative, my dog being put down and being made redundant. Nice.

As the D Ream cliche goes, things can only get better.

So, moan over and with an almost American sense of optimism and moving forward here we go with things only getting better.

I now have a job, my old job actually, we were bought lock stock and barrel by a very large multi national corporation as I kind of guessed we would be. That didn’t lessen the impact of signing on and being without the means to look after my family though.

There is quite naturally a bit of suspicion of our new employer’s motive’s, but their Head Shed has said we will be left to function as was with our personnel, we will not be relocated and they cannot foresee it being any different. Time will tell. Obviously we have all being looking for mirror functions that can be integrated into the massive organisation that now owns us, but we cannot see any exact fits. Again time will tell.

The house is now sorted and we are used to where we are now. I have been MTBing a lot and will stick some photos up in a future Blog.

Onto the main thrust of this blog, weight. I have failed to lose the 3 stones I said I would this year. But I’m still pedalling and still being careful with the grub. But not too careful, especially over Christmas. But do you know what? I don’t care, we have been through the mill this year and I figured we deserved it.

My weight is still what it says in the progress so far page.

Next year, starting Tuesday, I’ll be back on the commute and doing the running and core stuff with my daughter. And the food management will back.

I seem to have been saying that quite regularly over the 2 and a half years of this blog. Weak willed or what…

At this point I must take a moment to thank you all for the messages of support, offers of potential positions and leads. It was quite humbling and was great comfort in a very trying time. I consider you all friends, thank you.

Have a very happy and healthy new year everyone!

 

17 responses to “Ring in the new…

  1. Hi Clive,
    Good news that you have your job back, I’m pleased to hear that and hope it helped with Christmas for the family. I have missed your frequent blog posts, tweets aren’t as much fun to read but we all need to take a break from time to time. I know what you mean about Christmas, I’ve put back on all of my weight loss, some 5 months of daily cycling all lost in a month full of food and drink!

    Have a great New Year!
    Mickey

  2. Glad things worked out with the job. I do hope that 2012 will be a better one for you!
    Have a great new year and it seems to be coming a tradition now, but Hope to meet you in 2012 🙂

  3. Great news, that you are back in your job. Good luck in 2012 to you and your family, have missed your blogging, as Mickey said, tweeting doesn’t really cut it for me.

  4. It sounds like things may be on the upswing. Good for you – you deserve it. As for your weight, if the worst that can be said is you simply held the line during the holidays (and additional stressful situations), then you are in a better position than most. You’re poised to make another big push in 2012. Good luck!

  5. Wonderful to read the year will end on an up note for you Clive. All the best to you and your family in 2012. I look forward to cheering each other on for the battle against the belly.

    Mike

  6. Clive great to here you back in employment I agree lets both kick 2011 in the bollox and roll on 2012 . Happy New year to you and your family

  7. Good to hear about some positive news for a change Clive.

    I often agree with your wise words. However, I think I need to give you a kick up the arse for one of your comments;

    “But I’m still pedalling and still being careful with the grub. But not too careful, especially over Christmas. But do you know what? I don’t care, we have been through the mill this year and I figured we deserved it.”

    You, yourself, said that overeating is akin to self abuse. Don’t condone it ever. Treat yourself for Christmas dinner but don’t pig out every opportunity telling yourself that that you’ll get back on track in the New Year. Don’t put off until tomorrow what you can do today.

    The only thing stopping you is YOU!

  8. Excellent news re the job, though that’s exactly what I said would happen 😉

  9. Glad to hear things have sorted themselves out for you as the year ends. Hope 2012 is good to you and brings you all the joy and happiness you want.

  10. great to hear your news on the job front Clive. I tend to keep my cv current and my contacts close as in these uncertain times any one of us can be suddenly and unexpectedly forced to market ourselves for a new position.
    all the best to you and your family for 2012.
    RichardG

  11. “But I’m still pedalling and still being careful with the grub. But not too careful, especially over Christmas. But do you know what? I don’t care, we have been through the mill this year and I figured we deserved it.

    OI CHAPMAN NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

    What did I say ” Food ISNT The Answer”

    Now walk away, YOU’RE BETER THAN THAT !!!!!!!!

  12. I’m with you, Clive. So glad to hear that all is better in your world. Have a good year ahead, my friend.

  13. Gaz, Toby –

    You guys gonna start running a boot camp?

  14. Mike

    I’d love to

    Oi Chapman, your our first sign up :0)

  15. Boot camp sounds like a good idea.

    Now drop and give me twenty!

  16. 40 you mean 🙂

  17. You see fellers that’s the wrong approach, if you’re going to dish out beastings then you need to get the psychology right.

    Never tell the recipient how many push ups/pull ups/sit ups/burpees etc they have to do.

    You just use this phrase: (insert name of excercise here) BEGIN!

    That way they have no idea how long the increment is lasting and builds will power and increases uncertainty.

    The military call it dislocation of expectation. Very powerful when you’re on the receiving end of it!

Leave a Reply

