Saturday

After the initial shock of Monday’s totally out of the blue news, and me suddenly having no income the week has passed in a blur of CV (resume for you Yanks) writing, shaking the trees of all my contacts for any positions and signing on the dole.

Yep, I’m now government statistic who is waiting with bated breath for my £67.50p a week dole. They call it job seekers allowance now, but I won’t be getting it until the end of January due to administration issues.

I have already had one job interview, which went well, but unbelievably I found myself turning it down just as the man was offering me the position. It didn’t “feel” right if that makes any sense and I found myself driving back from Lichfield in a daze wondering why I did that. The money was crap, the hours wouldn’t have worked but it was a wage, although I wouldn’t have been seeing much of my family and would have had to find the cash to buy a car again. I did ask for and get some very positive and useful feedback about how I interviewed and my CV.

I’ve registered on a number of Agencies, got myself on Linkedin although I’m still not certain how that works and am still in close touch with my management colleagues at my old place.

I think I said our side of the business was profitable and it was the IT side that dragged us and the whole group under. So as the range of very high profile multinational blue chip Companies who use our kit are getting very nervous about the capabalities of their mobile workforce’s to function, I am cautiously optomistic that we will be  bought from the receivers and be able to take up where we left off.

Indeed I have already taken a number of phone calls from senior managers from our customers who are frantically trying to ascertain just what the hell is going on and what are we doing about it! The reality is we can’t do much other than indicate we can crack on if we can raise the cash.

It is at this point I must thank everyone who has offered help, support, sympathy and a willingness to pass my CV and name on to potential employers, it is at time like this that gestures like that do make things easier.

Well, the sun is out, the frost is thick and when wifey and daughter come back I’ll be out for a MTB ride come what may.

4 responses to “Saturday

  1. Thinking of you today, Clive and knowing that great things are in store for you in 2012. You’re a good man and good things are coming your way. Merry Christmas to you and your Family.

    Darryl

  2. Hey Clive !
    Been following you for nearly two years now.
    I can understand why you turned down a crappy job offer.
    You don’t have to walk on you knees yet.
    Hold your point as long as you can afford to do so. Offers should get better.
    Hope your next job will be in a more “ridable” spot from your new house…
    Greetings from eastern Canada, the land of Santa !
    Michel.

  3. Chin up Clive –

    An offer on the spot like that seems a very good sign to me. More and better will come. Of course if you think any input form a Yankee Navy vet will help, by all means feel free to ask.

    MBx

  4. I’m thinking of you, Clive. Hang in there and keep your chin up.

    BC

Leave a Reply

