Through Autumn’s Golden Gown…

Trees are now putting on an end of summer, beginning of Autumn show. It’s early too, probably as a result of the very dry early Spring we had.

I finally got my singlespeed commuter as I want it. I bled the brakes, which were in a shocking state, the fluid was very discoloured and full of contaminants. After I’d bled them I replaced the pads with Aztec Sintered brake pads. I went for sintered as they’re a tad longer lasting and can put up with the travails of commuting better than resin pads, although immediate stopping power is down. But my commute is pretty steady and doesn’t require MTB downhill stopping ability.

After the bleed I went to work on the mudguards, during the very wet commute in the other day I decided that the front and rear guards needed extending, the spray off the front was getting my feet wet and the rear didn’t go far enough over the tyre to prevent the dreaded “back splash”.

Here is my solution.

Front splash guard

It’s made quite simply by cutting a plastic bottle to shape, taping it up then self tapping it to the mudguard, Job done!

Before

Before

 
Cut out bottle

Cut out bottle

 
Taped up

Taped up

 
On the bike

On the bike

 
They seem to be secure enough and seem to be covering the offending areas. I’m not exactly looking forward to the wet weather, but I’m kind of looking forward to testing them out!
 
I also carried on with the slow and steady job of finishing my Ebay Special. My self built Chinese Carbon framed “best road bike”. It needed some decals. Here’s what I went with.
 
Red Pin striping

Red Pin striping

 
 
Red Pin striping

Red Pin striping

Motivational label!

Motivational label!

I also put on the new tyres, red naturally to match the pin striping. I’m just waiting for the text decals off my mate Daz to finish the bike off properly.
 
I finished the day with a parade of Brooks Saddles!
 
Brooks Saddles

Brooks Saddles

 
 

This mornings pedal in was dark and quite chilly, like I said Autumn is here.

4 responses to “Through Autumn’s Golden Gown…

  1. Liking the fix, is it crud racer mudguards you’ve got?

  2. No mate, Halford specials!

  3. Its still 29c here……31c tomorrow….killer! 😉

    Nice saddles mate, is there something about brooks that makes them particularly comfortable?

  4. They’re leather, they need breaking in so what you end up with is a saddle moulded to you. The first 100 or so miles are a bit, er, trying!

    Not everyone’s cup of tea, but I’ve never used anything else since I was a kid.

Leave a Reply

