Friday. TGI etc…

Another week of cycling put to bed, this time with added runs. Week 1 of the Couch to 5k seems to have passed off without incident. Indeed, as I’m out later for a site visit at work, I was straight out for run 3 this morning. I’ll be starting week 2 on Sunday. That’s after a couple of off roaders with Dan over the weekend.

Just climbed off the scales and my weight is static. I’d kind of hoped the running would have done something, but never mind, been here before! Have a good weekend folks!

2 responses to “Friday. TGI etc…

  1. Fantastic news, this “Couch to 5K” must be good for you. Even when I was playing soccer and rugby, I hated slogging it out on the road, or circuits of the pitch. Today the idea of running is attractive to me, and I believe I should give it a go, I’ll be watching your progress with interest, I invested in a kettlebell, a few months ago, and consistently do a couple of sets a day, working on my arms and shoulders. I can see an improvement in my upper body as a result. My weight is completely static, mainly because I continue to eat too much. The big quest for me is to find discipline in food intake? I think I need a psychiatrist, or a hypnotist? Good luck on your journey form “Couch to 5K”.

  2. As you’ve said in the past, it’s mainly what you put in your mouth that counts. I have been convinced that weight loss has less to do with calories in calories out and cardio than hormone control (and specifically insulin). There is a new theory that trans fats are responsible for the fat loss stalling. Essentially, the body can’t utilise those for energy and so until the body can kill those cells off, fat loss appears to stall.

    If you haven’t seen this already, watch Gary Taubes Berkley lecture on ‘Why we Get Fat’. It blew my mind and turned everything I thought I knew about diet and fitness on its head. It’s 90 minutes -so stick the kettle on and settle in.

    Watching the Taubes video set me off down a road of paleo diets and evolutionary fitness, amazing stuff. (Arthur De Vany is worth checking out – 73+ years old, 6’1″ 200lbs and 8 percent body fat).

Leave a Reply

