The tale of the bike.

I got out and did a very quick hour to get 16 miles in to complete Phill’s July 100. The bike performed pretty well and the tweaks seem to have done the trick. It was a very hilly route though and the weather was baking hot even at 0900hrs. I pedalled a hill I’ve always avoided until now. That of the “wrong way” up Beacon Hill in the Lickey’s. It’s goes from Catshill straight up. 6 miles for a gain of nearly a thousand feet. Not nice. My heart rate was a continuous 160bpm for the entire time.

I think a bit of an explaination and reason why is in order about why I got a new road bike and temporarily shelved the 29″ with belt drive commuter.

I guess 2 things were the main driving force behind it. The cancelling of my Companies’ cycle to work scheme and our house move.

I desperately needed a winter commuter as Wifey wanted her Specialized Rockhopper back, which I’d nicked when my Ridgeback died, and our new house (and I’m tempting fate here) is in a location where there is no access to a canal and cycle route so it’ll be an entire road commute to Smethwick.

I have a very good road commuter with my Giant Defy and if that’s being pressed into service as my all year round commuter I “needed” a new road bike for the weekend. The cliched “best bike”. I’d read a lot of blogs and scanned various forums and with money being tight with the house move I decided on a “no name” Chinese Carbon Fibre Frame and build it myself. They’d got rave reviews pretty much everywhere.

Here’s the break down:

Ebay Chinese Frame – £257.00

Wheels – £0.00 already had a spare set from my Defy

Ebay Ultegra shifters – £80.00

Ebay – Brooks Ti Swift saddle – £110.00

Ebay Carbon seat post – £13.50

Ebay Carbon stem – £20.00

Ebay 105 brakes – £16.00

Ebay 105 rear mech – £25.00

Ebay Handlebars – £25.00

Ebay Carbon headset spacers – £6.00

Ebay Carbon Water bottle holders – £3.00 (the pair)

Ebay Shimano SPD pedals – £14.00

Ebay 105 front mech – £10.00

Ebay carbon seat post bracket – £3.00

New 105 Crankset – £125.00

New Chain – £25.00

New Bottom Bracket – £60.00

New Headset – £75.00

New bar tape – £10.00

Cables from LBS £15.00

Graphics (yet to be recieved) – price of a beer from a very good mate!

Grand total – £867.50.

That might seem a lot and is more than my estimated £600 in a past post! But, it was built over time and didn’t require one lump sum being shelled out. Looking at various online retailers it seems a Shimano 105 carbon framed bike will cost anything from £1500 upwards.

I guess I’m lucky in as much as I am fairly handy wielding the odd spanner and allen key and could build the thing myself. I suppose you would have to add whatever your LBS labour charges are on top if you’re not that confident in your fettling ability. But it would still work out cheaper than buying a carbon framed piece of exotica in one hit!

Just noticed I’ve passed the 7000 miles pedalled since I started this thing!

2 responses to “The tale of the bike.

  1. Looks good….

    I am surprised at the cost of the BB.. £60…I would have thought it would be Hollotech II shells (£20), unless you went for full on Ceramic bearings 🙂

    Light bike makes a hell of a difference doesn’t it 🙂

  2. I got Ultegra Hollotech II bearings for my Allez for £12. They should never cost more than double that.

    It does seem expensive but as you say, you didn’t have to shell out for it all at once.

    Well done on the 7,000 miles. I’ve just hot 6,000.

Leave a Reply

