A good groove…

For whatever reason, I seem to be doing some good times at the moment, I’m not obsessed by them, just keeping one eye on the commute time just as a gauge of form. Yesterday’s pedal home on what I call the QE – Bristol Road route was done in a sub 40 minute time which is good going for me. Also my commute in over the Beeches was done in a sub 33 which is good going.

The upper body & core excercises successfully done too (accompanied by Dan) makes for a good day of activity. Added on to my resumption of nailed food management and I can feel suitably satisfied. I’m still aiming at a 3 stone loss for the year. It’s just that I’m starting 6 months too late!

I have a plan for Saturday morning. An hour out beckons, which will be a world of hurt. It’s my 10 mile hill climb circuit, 3 passes over Romsley Hill. I will be timing that one pretty closely.

Check out the video below from last week, it’s the usual Northfield Pinch Pinch Point drama. I was keeping prime position in my lane and still she insisted on forcing her way past. So her car got a dent for her troubles. If you listen carefully you can hear her calling me a “Wanker” as she turns right just down the road, which makes her manoevre even more giggleworthy!

4 responses to “A good groove…

  1. Highway Code:

    http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/TravelAndTransport/Highwaycode/DG_070306
    130 Areas of white diagonal stripes or chevrons painted on the road. These are to separate traffic lanes or to protect traffic turning right.
    if the area is bordered by a broken white line, you should not enter the area unless it is necessary and you can see that it is safe to do so

    http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/TravelAndTransport/Highwaycode/DG_070309
    153 Traffic-calming measures. On some roads there are features such as road humps, chicanes and narrowings which are intended to slow you down. When you approach these features reduce your speed. Allow cyclists and motorcyclists room to pass through them. Maintain a reduced speed along the whole of the stretch of road within the calming measures. Give way to oncoming road users if directed to do so by signs. You should not overtake other moving road users while in these areas.

    http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/TravelAndTransport/Highwaycode/DG_070314
    163 Overtake only when it is safe and legal to do so.
    give motorcyclists, cyclists and horse riders at least as much room as you would when overtaking a car (see Rules 211-215)

    http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/TravelAndTransport/Highwaycode/DG_070314
    167 DO NOT overtake where you might come into conflict with other road users. For example
    approaching or at a road junction on either side of the road
    where the road narrows

    I’d say she broke quite a few of the Highway Codes!!

  2. Thanks for the continued inspiration Clive.

    It’s nice to see that even people who are further down the road of weight loss struggle with the same demons that we all have (not that I wish them on anyone). It makes it all that bit more achieveable for those of us just starting out on our so called journey.

    My reason for posting is to ask if you could let me know what the “upper body” exercises are that you do, and which of them you have found the most beneficial on the bike.

    Thanks in advance.

    b.

  3. Cheers for the comments fellers, they’re welcome as always!

    @Brian

    I do press ups, sit ups & planks for my core. They help with aching back & neck.

    Plus I do dumbell curls & shoulder presses to assist with the shoulder issues I have because of my rugby career and because I don’t want cyclist’s arms!

  4. @Clive
    Thanks Clive, I have started to feel it in the neck department already.

Leave a Reply

