Deja Vu?

Or Sierra Sierra Delta Delta?

Whatever. Everything is same old same old. Monday, up at 0500hrs, pedal in, get work opened up, sort stuff out, email IT because some software and servers have fell over during the weekend. Wait until 0900hrs until they decide to do anything about it. Yada yada yada…

The pedal in was over the Beeches and via Harbourne, I didn’t stop once, no red lights, virtually no traffic as usual, just a pig of a head wind and light rain for company.

Half term this week. That means wifey has the kids at home all by herself. I may sleep here all week rather than go back!

3 responses to “Deja Vu?

  1. Hi Clive,

    Glad to see you’re back on the bike after the bad back. I’ve suffered from a bad back for years so I know the physical and mental anguish involved.

    I’ve a question about eating, or not as the case may be. I eat when I’m feeling miserable, which when you’ve got depression means to tendency to reach for a bar of chocolate is enormously tempting and often I give in (despite the guilt afterwards). How do you handle this? My training is going really well, but I really need to get the eating in order.

  2. Short answer is, when you find out please tell me! Seriously though, the eating is a huge and ongoing challenge, I don’t want to put a downer on it, but the only way I’ve found to control my eating is by:

    1. Not having temptation in my way, by not carrying money or having shit in the house.

    2. Deploying some iron will power.

    The getting up at stupid O’Clock and pedalling through a winter is easy by comparison!

    I’ve fallen off the wagon twice since June 2009 when I started this, but I guess my eating disorder, which I consider a form of mental illness will always be with me. It is by a country mile the hardest part of the “new” lifestyle.

    Not much help really was I? Sorry about that!

  3. On the contrary, it helps put things in perspective. If there was a magic wand I’d have waved it long ago and instead of looking ludicrous in lycra I’d be on the cover of Men’s Health magazine!

Leave a Reply

