A cookery day

As I have decided that a trip to Wales is a non starter due to the weather I wandered into Rubery with my daughter to get all the stuff I needed to do my Christmas Ham. Recipe here.

It’s a tradition that I do every year and I recommend you have a go if you have a culinary bent.

It’s snowing here again and we’re now resigned to having these conditions all the way into the New Year.

As for pedalling? Unlikely mainly due to my Flu/Chest infection still not being completely better. I’m still coughing my guts up and still really achey. But I would be giving it a go if it weren’t for the conditions.

I did see one hardy soul having a go in Rubery, but he was sliding all over the place. It didn’t look particularly safe especially in amongst the car drivers who clearly didn’t know how to drive in ice and snow. I would have walked, which was what me and Fay did.

I’ve decided that I’m not going to weigh myself again until I’ve completed a weeks commuting back at work. This is kidding myself big style, but it works for my mindset especially given the rough 3 weeks I’ve had with the flu thing. I haven’t been pigging out but I haven’t been super careful either.

I think that getting properly well, enjoying Christmas with the family then targeting the New Year with avengence is now my plan.

A bit of a damp squib to end the year considering my progress to date, but as with most performance graphs they’re very rarely  linear as we all know.

5 responses to “A cookery day

  1. The recipe link seems to just come back to the blog home page…

  2. Sorry Mike, my balls up. Try that.

  3. Sounds like a good plan. Rest up, enjoy the holidays, and start moving forward on your goals again in the new year. It’s going to be a great one, my friend.

    Darryl

  4. I’m gonna try that ham recipe, I like to cook, I like ham, and most of all I like to eat. 🙂

  5. I feel like I’m in hibernation, started to snow again here alittle while ago. Thank goodness it stopped, I REALLY don’t need any more snow. Your ham sounds scrumptious. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

