Back down t’cut

A change is as good as a rest as they say and pedalling back down NCR 5 and the Canal was just what the Doctor ordered. As is usual I didn’t see a soul from the minute I got onto NCR 5 all the way until I got off the cut at Smethwick.

I got myself a new front light for the winter dark mornings as my old front light had died. I got one that was recommended to me as good enough for towpath bashing, this one.

Plenty bright enough for the canal and NCR 5, indeed, it’s scarily bright for such a small unit. I’d recommend it as fit for purpose for the cut, maybe not quite good enough for serious night MTBing if you get a lick on, but fine for my towpath pedalling.

Easy fit, easy charge and easy to use. You have a choice of helmet or bike mount too. I’ve bar mounted mine as I have my Muvi cam on my lid.

I’m looking forward to a week’s commuting along the cut away from the traffic, which after the last couple of weeks of poor morale is a bonus.

3 responses to “Back down t’cut

  1. This is what I use for off-road/night-riding – http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.30864
    900 lumens is a *lot* of light. You have to be very careful when using it on the road, as it quite literally stops cars in their tracks – I think they can’t tell what that thing is coming towards them.
    Used on the lowest setting, and dipped down, it’s fine.
    Works best off-road if lid-mounted.
    $77.96 = £48.61!! And, that’s delivered, too.

  2. Being able to see where you’re going always helps 🙂

  3. I’ve just picked up the Electron Terra 2 – 240 lumens, though looking at Bazza’s link – might pick that up aswell 🙂

Leave a Reply

